Skip to content

In response to Lucy Wombat’s “‘What a beautiful face I have found in this place that is circling all ’round the sun…'”

May 18, 2010

Well, two days in a row, and two response posts. I’ll have some delicious OC coming for you soon, but for right now…

Another person I know (and may have talked about on here once…or twice…) has a blog (here) and posted a response to my “Doin’ your own thing” and launching a staunch defense of hipsterdom. You can see for yourself
If I may:
The first thing I stated is how preppy culture (thoroughly seen, or at least talked about in hipster circles) as the opposite of hipster counter-culture, was terrible. Doing anything just because everyone else is STUPID.
THEN I got to the other side of the fence and said that doing things just because other people don’t is even dumber. The definition of “hipster” was provided to me through urban dictionary, although it was clearly written by a very biased hipster (quite frankly, I would write a very nice and supportive review of my social circle, too). But even he writer states that “hipsters are technically conformists within their own subculture” does that seem a little contradictory to anyone else?
For a culture that prides itself on lack of conformity, seeing nearly every single “hipster” I know wearing basically the same thing just seems fishy to me.
Correct me if I’m wrong, but “hipsters” and “preps” are the same. The end.
And hipsters, you are a hipster for the same reasons preps are preps, skaters are skaters, and so on. You’re looking to belong. To something, to a group. And that’s all you are, another clique. And probably the most exclusive and hard to penetrate, so, hipsters, don’t think of yourself as any better than any other group that tries to exclude others

here’s to tomorrow

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

